Faster development and deployment of cloud solutions

Research project SmartCLIDE

Faster development and deployment of cloud solutions

Research project SmartCLIDE

The cloud is the motor of digitization. But many companies and public administrations still hesitate to use cloud services on a broad scale. Eleven partners from Germany, Greece, Great Britain, Luxembourg, Portugal and Spain want to change this. Under the umbrella of the Eclipse Foundation, they are working on an integrated development environment (cloud IDE) that can be used to quickly build and roll out new web solutions, operate them securely and update them easily. The EU-funded SmartCLIDE project is also remarkable for the fact that the research results will be published as open source software.

With the security-by-design experts from The Open Group (UK), the participating research institutes and software companies are implementing a universal reference architecture based on GitHub or similar services. This architecture includes tools for classification and contextual configuration of software modules, for automatic testing and deployment of the new solutions, and generic interfaces to all major cloud service providers.

The research partners rely on the behavior-driven development (BDD) approach and involve users in the development process in an early and agile manner. They also use a deep learning engine to ensure a good user experience. The AI component analyzes real application usage by means of runtime monitoring. This helps software developers to adapt their customer solutions accordingly and also to detect and correct bugs more quickly.

CONTACT's task is to test, evaluate and validate the SmartCLIDE development environment with its Elements platform. The Eclipse Foundation Europe supports the project in project communication, community building and IP management. The core components of the new cloud IDE will be released under OSS license so that software developers and professional users can view, freely use and further develop the results. This promotes the wider adoption of cloud services and strengthens digital sovereignty in the European economic area.

Consortium

Institute for Applied Systems Technology ATB (coordination), AIR Institute, Centre for Research and Technology Hellas (CERTH), CONTACT Software, Eclipse Foundation, Intrasoft International, Kairos Digital Solutions, The Open Group, University of Macedonia, Unparallel Innovation, Wellness TechGroup


Your contact

Johannes Groenewold
Quality Manager Software Development

Funded by:

 

We are here to help!
Talk with our team:


Locations

Cloud-Lösungen schnell ausrollen, einfach und sicher betreiben

Verbundprojekt SmartCLIDE

Cloud-Lösungen schnell ausrollen, einfach und sicher betreiben

Verbundprojekt SmartCLIDE

Die Cloud ist Motor der Digitalisierung. Aber viele Unternehmen und Behörden zögern noch Cloud-Dienste in der Breite zu nutzen. Dies wollen elf Partner aus Deutschland, Griechenland, Großbritannien, Luxemburg, Portugal und Spanien ändern. Unter dem Dach der Eclipse Foundation arbeiten sie an einer integrierten Entwicklungsumgebung (Cloud IDE), mit der sich neue Web-Lösungen schnell aufbauen und ausrollen, sicher betreiben und einfach aktualisieren lassen. Das von der EU geförderte Projekt SmartCLIDE zeichnet sich auch dadurch aus, dass die Forschungsergebnisse als Open Source Software veröffentlicht werden.

Mit den Security-by-Design-Experten von The Open Group (UK) realisieren die an SmartCLIDE beteiligen Forschungsinstitute, Softwareunternehmen und Universitäten eine universelle Referenzarchitektur auf Basis von GitHub oder ähnlichen Diensten. Diese Architektur umfasst Werkzeuge für die Klassifikation und kontextbezogene Konfiguration von Softwaremodulen, das automatische Testen und Verteilen der Lösungen sowie generische Schnittstellen zu allen wichtigen Cloud-Service-Anbietern.

Die Forschungspartner setzen auf den Behavior-Driven-Development-Ansatz und binden Anwender frühzeitig und agil in den Entwicklungsprozess ein. Darüber hinaus nutzen sie eine Deep Learning Engine, um eine gute User Experience sicherzustellen. Die KI-Komponente analysiert mittels Runtime Monitoring die tatsächliche Anwendungsnutzung. Diese Art der Laufzeitüberwachung hilft Softwareentwicklern, ihre Kundenlösungen entsprechend anzupassen. Zudem können sie so Fehler schneller erkennen und beheben.

CONTACTs Aufgabe ist es, die SmartCLIDE-Entwicklungsumgebung an seiner Elements Plattform zu erproben, zu bewerten und zu validieren. Die Eclipse Foundation Europe unterstützt das Projekt bei Projektkommunikation, Community-Aufbau und IP-Management. Die zentralen Komponenten der neuen Cloud IDE werden unter OSS-Lizenz veröffentlicht, damit Softwareentwickler und Fachanwender die Ergebnisse einsehen, frei nutzen und weiterentwickeln können. Dies fördert den Einsatz von Cloud-Diensten und stärkt die digitale Souveränität im europäischen Wirtschaftsraum.

Konsortium

Bremer Institut für angewandte Systemtechnik ATB (Koordination), AIR Institute, Centre for Research and Technology Hellas (CERTH), CONTACT Software, Eclipse Foundation, Intrasoft International, Kairos Digital Solutions, The Open Group, University of Macedonia, Unparallel Innovation, Wellness TechGroup


Ihr Ansprechpartner:

Johannes Groenewold
Quality Manager Softwareentwicklung

Gefördert durch:

 

Wir helfen Ihnen gern!
Sprechen Sie mit einem Mitarbeiter:


Standorte