New IoT solutions for the service business

Research project Maintenance, Repair, Overhaul

New IoT solutions for the service business

Research project Maintenance, Repair, Overhaul

Digitization offers the opportunity to speed up maintenance processes and to overhaul components in such a way that they run more efficiently and for longer. At the Werner-von-Siemens Centre for Industry and Science, Siemens Energy, CONTACT Software and other partners are working on powerful applications for plant engineering and its customers. In the Maintenance, Repair, Overhaul (MRO) project, new measurement methods and materials are being developed, as well as product and process innovations for the service business.

With the help of Digital Twins, the researchers are building individual MRO process chains in which the value-added steps are predefined. To this end, data from various IT systems are linked to provide service engineers with the best possible support in their work and to supply production facilities with the necessary information. Additive manufacturing methods are used to exploit new designs and materials in the maintenance of turbine blades, thus equipping them with improved properties.

The Digital Twin is used in a variety of ways depending on the process step. When inspecting a component, it serves as a repository for 3D geometries collected by 3D scanning. AI-supported damage analyses use these 3D models and further measurements on the component to assist service engineers in finding the optimal repair measures. Simulation models stored in the Digital Twin help to design the coating processes according to the requirements.

Once the basic preliminary work has been completed, a test environment based on CONTACT Elements for IoT will be set up. Here, the partners evaluate the functionality of the Digital Twins with regard to the different use cases in the MRO process chain and the desired project results. Their goals: to increase productivity in the MRO processes, to avoid downtime, and to enable components upgrades during repairs. After recommissioning, the optimized components can increase the efficiency of a machine or plant, extend maintenance intervals or even lead to lower emissions.

Consortium

Siemens Energy (coordination), four other industrial partners, the German Federal Institute for Materials Research and Testing, institutes of the Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft and the Technical University of Berlin


Your contact:

Ian Altmann
Project Engineer IoT & Industry 4.0, Engineering Transformation Team

Funded by:

 

We are here to help!
Talk with our team:


Locations

Neue IoT-Lösungen für den Service

Verbundprojekt Maintenance, Repair, Overhaul

Neue IoT-Lösungen für den Service

Verbundprojekt Maintenance, Repair, Overhaul

Digitalisierung bietet die Chance, die Instandhaltung zu beschleunigen und Komponenten so zu warten, dass sie effizienter und länger laufen. Am Werner-von-Siemens Centre for Industry and Science arbeiten Siemens Energy, CONTACT Software und weitere Partner an leistungsfähigen Anwendungen für den Anlagenbau und seine Kunden. Im Projekt „Maintenance, Repair, Overhaul“ (MRO) entstehen neue Messverfahren und Materialien sowie Produkt- und Prozessinnovationen für den Service.

Die Forscher bauen mithilfe von digitalen Zwillingen individuelle MRO-Prozessketten auf, in denen die Wertschöpfungsschritte vorgegeben sind. Dazu werden Daten aus diversen IT-Systemen verknüpft, um Service-Ingenieure bei ihrer Arbeit bestmöglich zu unterstützen und die Produktionsanlagen mit notwendigen Informationen zu versorgen. Additive Fertigungsverfahren dienen dazu neue Designs und Materialen bei der Instandhaltung von Turbinenschaufeln zu nutzen, und sie so mit verbesserten Eigenschaften auszustatten.

Der Digitale Zwilling wird je nach Prozessschritt vielfältig genutzt. Bei der Inspektion eines Bauteils dient er als Ablage von 3D-Geometrien, die mittels 3D-Scan erhoben werden. KI-gestützte Schadensanalysen nutzen diese 3D-Modelle und weitere Messungen am Bauteil, um Service-Ingenieuren die Entscheidungsfindung der optimalen Reparaturmaßnahmen zu erleichtern. Am Digitalen Zwilling hinterlegte Simulationsmodelle helfen, die Beschichtungsprozesse entsprechend der Anforderungen auszulegen.

Nach Abschluss der grundlegenden Vorarbeiten entsteht eine Testumgebung auf Basis von CONTACT Elements for IoT. Hier evaluieren die Partner mit Blick auf die unterschiedlichen Anwendungsfälle in der MRO-Prozesskette und die gewünschten Projektergebnisse die Funktionsfähigkeit der Digitalen Zwillinge. Ihre Ziele: die Produktivität in den MRO-Prozessen steigern, Stillstandzeiten vermeiden und bei Reparaturen ein „Upgrade“ der Komponenten ermöglichen. Nach Wieder-Inbetriebnahme können die optimierten Bauteile die Effizienz einer Maschine oder Anlage erhöhen, Wartungsintervalle verlängern oder auch zu geringeren Emissionen führen.

Konsortium

Siemens Energy (Koordination), vier weitere Industriepartner, Bundesanstalt für Materialforschung und –prüfung, Institute der Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft und der TU Berlin


Ihr Ansprechpartner:

Ian Altmann
Projektingenieur IoT & Industrie 4.0, Engineering Transformation Team

Gefördert durch:

 

Wir helfen Ihnen gern!
Sprechen Sie mit einem Mitarbeiter:


Standorte